Fall Leaf Composting: It’s in the Bag

October 28, 2019
Posted in Recycling | Tagged compost, fall leaves, zero waste

The humble fall leaf packs a punch when used as compost or mulch to return nutrients to the soil.  When landfilled, leaves create methane, a potent greenhouse gas that contributes to climate change.  Fortunately, it’s easy to put fall leaves to good use through composting! 

WHERE TO COMPOST

Certain neighborhoods can set out fall leaves for curbside collection on specific Saturdays this fall.  Communities that receive NYC curbside composting service can set out leaves along with their other organics.  Residents with no curbside option can utilize drop-off sites in all 5 boros.  Leaves placed on the curb for collection should go in paper lawn & leaf bags, open, unlined containers, or brown organics bins.  Do not set out leaves in plastic bags.  Learn more at nyc.gov/leafcollection.

GROWNYC LEAF BAG GIVEAWAYS

Stop by select GrowNYC food scrap drop-offs and take home free leaf bags, while supplies last! Leaf bags are also available at outerboro retailers and giveaways

2019 Leaf Bag Giveaway Schedule
(during food scrap collection hours)

Sunday, November 10
Carroll Gardens Greenmarket
Cortelyou Greenmarket

Tuesday, November 12
Poe Park Greenmarket

Thursday, November 14
Brooklyn Borough Hall Greenmarket
Parkside Plaza Compost On-the-Go

Friday, November 15
Fordham Plaza Greenmarket
Parkchester Greenmarket

Saturday, November 16
Bay Ridge Greenmarket
St. George Greenmarket
Staten Island Mall Greenmarket
McCarren Park Greenmarket
Fort Greene Greenmarket
Grand Army Plaza Greenmarket
Brooklyn Borough Hall Greenmarket

Sunday, November 17
Carroll Gardens Greenmarket
Cortelyou Greenmarket
Jackson Heights Greenmarket
Forest Hills Greenmarket

Tuesday, November 19
Elmhurst Compost On-the-Go
Rego Park Compost On-the-Go
Kew Gardens Compost On-the-Go
Briarwood Compost On-the-Go
Poe Park Greenmarket

Thursday, November 21
Brooklyn Borough Hall
Parkside Plaza Compost On-the-Go

Friday, November 22
Corona Greenmarket
Fordham Plaza Greenmarket
Parkchester Greenmarket

Saturday, November 23
McCarren Park Greenmarket
Fort Greene Greenmarket
Grand Army Plaza Greenmarket
Brooklyn Borough Hall Greenmarket

Sunday, November 24
Carroll Gardens Greenmarket
Cortelyou Greenmarket
Jackson Heights Greenmarket
Forest Hills Greenmarket

Tuesday, November 26
Elmhurst Compost On-the-Go
Rego Park Compost On-the-Go
Kew Gardens Compost On-the-Go
Briarwood Compost On-the-Go
Poe Park Greenmarket

Saturday, November 30
McCarren Park Greenmarket
Fort Greene Greenmarket
Grand Army Plaza Greenmarket
Brooklyn Borough Hall Greenmarket
Sunnyside Greenmarket

Sunday, December 1
Jackson Heights Greenmarket
Forest Hills Greenmarket

Tuesday, December 3
Elmhurst Compost On-the-Go
Rego Park Compost On-the-Go
Kew Gardens Compost On-the-Go
Briarwood Compost On-the-Go

Friday, December 6
Corona Greenmarket

Recent Posts

Programs

Tags

More tags

Archives